Knowing and Living the Gospel

The week of July 13th I went to Pittsburgh PA.  I took some of the students from the church that I serve at to a youth conference called Momentum.  The week is an opportunity to not just receive mental stimulation and growth, but serve the community where the conference is held.  It is not just about understanding mentally the gospel but living it with our lives.  You can only do (live) if you first know (understand). The theme for the week was 1 Thessalonians 2:8 “So, being affectionately desirous of you, we were ready to share with you not only the gospel of God but also our own selves, because you had become very dear to us.”  We shared the Gospel verbally and shared the living Gospel.

On Saturday God did something magnificent in my heart.  I listened to the Spirit of the Lord in ways that I never had before.  The entire conference 2000 students and leaders went out into communities in the area and served the community.  We were at a park, cleaning it up and playing with kids from inner-city Pittsburgh.  I noticed this kid in the park; he was about 12 years old.  At this point I decided that I was going to start talking to him, with the intention of discussing Christ.  Though my motives were pure and God-centered there was barriers to the Spirit moving in me.  My heart was cynical because of past manipulations and abuses of the Gospel.  Despite this, quickly God left opportunity after opportunity to share with Him the Gospel.  He (Jay was the kid’s name) had heard a false Gospel of works, and was trying to live it but even as he admitted he was falling short.  The irony of this interaction I had, was that I listened to the Spirit.  Previously either from fear of men or a lack of faith would have responded differently.  In the end I trust that God was faithful and now there is one more person that Heaven is rejoicing about.

Me and Jay

The lesson I learned was that living the Gospel starts with knowing the Gospel, but does not end there.  The Gospel of Jesus Christ is one meant to be lived with our everything, not just part of us.  Romans 1:16-17 says, “16For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek. 17For in it the righteousness of God is revealed from faith for faith, as it is written, “The righteous shall live by faith.”  Both know unashamedly and live unashamedly the Gospel.  If you do not know the Gospel I encourage you to read the “What is the Gospel?” tab on this blog.  For those that know the Gospel I encourage you to challenge yourself to live it!  Read the word of God and listen to the Spirit!  Search for needs in your neighborhood, community, and city.

Questions to Ponder:

How can I live the good news of Jesus Christ?  Do I know needs in my neighborhood, community, and city?  Am I seeking to help those in need (Spiritually, Emotionally, Physically)?

Have I listened to the Spirit sharing the Gospel by confessing before men (Romans 10:9-10) and with my actions (James 1:22-25)?

In Christ Alone, Mueller

Leave a comment

Filed under Application, Gospel Foundations, Mueller, Theological Reflection

Leave a Reply

