Loving Leadership

Paul had a deep love for those under his care, and he was an exceptional model of living out loving leadership.  He was never afraid to express the depth of his affections for his brothers and sisters in Christ, because he understood the necessity and power of words.  His love was passionate, selfless, and Christ-centered.   Those blessed by Paul never had to doubt whether or not Paul loved them, because he continually expressed his affections for them.  He wanted God to use it to help them to grow and be encouraged by it.   He knew how much they needed to know of his love and gratitude for them.  I wonder if we have a similar love for those whom the Lord has placed under our leadership and in our lives.  If so, I wonder how often they know that we love them.  It is essential that we take the time and energy to express it.  Love must express itself; it cannot remain silent or ever be assumed.[1]

Affections Of May Poster

“I rejoice over you” (Rom. 16:19)

“I hold you in my heart.” (Phil. 1:7)

“I yearn for you all with the affection of Christ Jesus.” (Phil. 1:8)

“My brothers, whom I love and long for, my joy and my crown.” (Phil. 4:1)

“Being affectionately desirous of you, we were ready to share with you not only the gospel of God but also our own selves, because you had become very dear to us.”  (1 Thess. 2:8)

“My little children, for whom I am again in the anguish of childbirth until Christ is formed in you, I wish I could be present with you now.” (Gal. 4:19-20)

“My love be with you all in Christ Jesus.” (1 Cor. 16:24)

“I wrote to you out of much affliction and anguish of heart and with many tears… to let you know the abundant love that I have for you.” (2 Cor. 2:4)

“We have spoken freely to you, Corinthians; our heart is wide open.” (2 Cor. 6:11)

“You are in our hearts, to die together and to live together.” (2 Cor. 7:3)

“Because I do not love you?  God knows I do!” (2 Cor. 11:11)

“I seek not what is yours but you.” (2 Cor. 12:14)

“I will most gladly spend and be spent for your souls.  If I love you more, am I to be loved less?” (2 Cor. 12:15)

“And may the Lord make you increase… in love for one another… as we do for you.” (1 Thess. 3:12)

“I am sending him back to you, sending my very heart.” (Philemon 12)

[1] Alexander Strauch has written an excellent book entitled Leading with Love that is worth checking out.  It’s an expanded exposition of the characteristics of divine love expressed in 1 Corinthians 13.

Leave a comment

Filed under Church, Love, Relationships, Tribbett

Leave a Reply

