He Drank Every Last Drop

Jesus drank every last drop of the bitter cup of God’s wrath reserved for us. Every departure of my heart from the will of God provoked His wrath to be stored up for me. Every careless moment of apathy and every presumption upon His grace deserved the pit of hell for an eternity of payment.

John Newton:

I asked the Lord that I might grow in faith and love and every grace,

Might more of his salvation know and seek more earnestly his face.

‘Twas he who taught me thus to pray; and he, I trust, has answered prayer,

But it has been in such a way as almost drove me to despair.

I hoped that, in some favoured hour at once he’d answer my request,

And by his love’s constraining power, subdue my sins and give me rest.

Instead of this, he made me feel, the hidden evils of my heart,

And let the angry powers of hell assault my soul on every part.

Robert Murray M’Cheyne confessed that “the seed of every known sin was to be found in [his] heart.”  God often uses suffering to expose the sinfulness of our hearts and drive us to cross where we find forgiveness, mercy, and love. We know far too little about true repentance, but the more we see the depth of our sin the more we desire freedom from it. We serve such a gracious God who is compassionate and slow to anger, abounding in steadfast love… I am so thankful. Eternally thankful!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

